top of page
Search

ISM Blog 17 - Spring break work!


Though I had a lot of other obligations I managed to do a lot over my final product. Firstly, I had a mentor visit which allowed me to learn a few new things but mainly acted as reinforcement for my final product. I worked on power systems where I learned a bounty of information on RTGs or Radioisotope Thermal generators, how they power spacecraft as well as a constraint for my space probe, Plutonium, the main source of fuel for RTGs has only recently restarted production and as a result RTGs may be limited. Another thing I learned was that Uranus is a more compelling science target for the planet itself while Neptune is more popular for its moon Triton. As a result, my atmospheric probe may be more useful with a Uranus orbiter although I will still keep the intended destination on Neptune. Power wise, I would use batteries with the atmospheric probe while the relay is powered by one RTG unfortunately this also means that this mission becomes improbable for discovery class funding. This week (Wednesday) I have another mentor visit and we can hopefully discuss some hiccups with trajectory and launch windows as the software is very difficult.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ISM Blog 0A - Rebranding

Avid Readers may be wondering what's with the drought of content however These Blogs are Designed only to describe the ISM Experience to the public so without further ado here is a list of Changes to

ISM Blog - 25 The Final Blog

This is it, This is the Final blog and the finale for this year of ISM. This year is absolutely crazy and not according to anyone's expectations. This and next week I have a multitude of AP and EOC te

ISM Blog 20 - All About Mentor visit number 2

This particular blog was written well after the intended due date. This blog is all about my final product and my 2nd mentor visit. My mentor visit was all about discussing my final product and this d

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page